cricketmuse

a writer's journey as a reader

A Ponderance of Quarterly End


This post is devoted to teachers who are nearing first quarter completion:

As we madly try to stuff in more knowledge into the unwilling minds of students, it’s important to pause and reflect on what education is all about. If only I could get my students to realize these astute observations:

  • Poetry is not useless–do they not realize all that music cascading into their brain is poetry?
  • Spulling mahters–just ask the person hiring from what job applications reveal
  • The classroom is not an extension of the cafeteria–socializing and eating in class may seem like a good idea–but really? Nope.
  • Bringing a charged laptop, the right folder, pen, paper, textbook actually does help in the learning process.
  • I do see everything. Texting, writing notes, whispering, sleeping.
  • Turning in something is better than nothing. Half points on a late assignment beats out a zero.
  • I believe they can do better. And I will keep after them until they believe the same.

UPDATE: I did survive quarter one grading rush and I’m gearing up for the second night of parent teacher conferences. Onward to second quarter, which means first semester closing to open up second semester which means countdown to summer.

Have I mentioned how difficult it’s been teaching while recovering  from a broken wrist?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Ponderance of Quarterly End

  1. Believing they can do better–love it. Have faith!

  2. Oh my. I don’t know how teachers do it. Something about soldiering on…..thank you!

  3. My wife, parents, sister, and father-in-law are all teachers. I don’t know how any of them do it. Long story short, Cricket. I salute you and your oft under-appreciated profession.

    • Teaching teens the joy of reading great literature and getting them to write at least a paragraph that makes sense has its rewards: if they get educated and obtain decent jobs they keep feeding into Social Security long enough for me to maybe tap into it!

Comments, anyone?

