cricketmuse

a writer's journey as a reader

POM:October–Singing in the Fall, I’m Singing in the Fall


Due to the roasty, toasty temps we experienced this year, I’m becoming more of an autumn fan than a summer lover, my allegiance to fall begins to wane when the leaves start swirling down. While I don’t actually loathe raking and burning the farewell of summer, I do detest how the days are darker–both in the morning and in the evening. I do adore my Happy Lights. One in the bedroom and one in the kitchen. I’m about to trot to Costco to purchase another for my office.

Being the type of person who prefers solutions to problems, I appreciated this poem find. Instead of fretting about the impending gloom, I shall whistle instead.

Whistling in the dark, with a poem in my heart image: morguefile.com/morethanordinary

The Gift to Sing
by James Weldon Johnson, 18711928

Sometimes the mist overhangs my path,
And blackening clouds about me cling;
But, oh, I have a magic way
To turn the gloom to cheerful day—
      I softly sing.

And if the way grows darker still,
Shadowed by Sorrow’s somber wing,
With glad defiance in my throat,
I pierce the darkness with a note,
       And sing, and sing.

I brood not over the broken past,
Nor dread whatever time may bring;
No nights are dark, no days are long,
While in my heart there swells a song,
       And I can sing.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “POM:October–Singing in the Fall, I’m Singing in the Fall

  1. What a lovely poem – thanks so much for sharing! I love to sing. While I won’t be winning any singing prizes in the future, it always makes me feel happier.

    • Singing is such a stress-reliever. I wouldn’t mind having a better singing voice, as is I am content with making a “joyful noise unto the Lord.” No one else appreciates my tuneless warbling😊

  2. I love this so much and it is so timely for me, in this exact moment. My question: What do you do when you can’t hear that song in your heart? How can you find it?

    • Listen for the notes–eventually the tune unfolds. Sometimes the world’s noise drowns the song, yet the notes eventually rise to the surface. It’s taking the time to listen. That’s what is difficult.

  3. I agree that singing a song can lighten the darkest mood. I do it all the time. Unfortunately for my wife, that song is Deck the Halls.

    All. Year. Round.

  4. That is a nice poem, happily I will miss loads of that this year as I’m working nights, I will need a jaunty song in my heart at 3am though so perhaps I will memorise it.

Comments, anyone?

