cricketmuse

a writer's journey as a reader

Pedestrian Thoughts


I do my best writing while out walking. There is something about the synced coordination of brain and body both exercising at the same time–I now understand the trend towards the new kinetic desks.

After an hour of sitting down at the laptop I get antsy and start moving around, tidying up, doing laundry, futzing and such. Writing in lock down mode doesn’t work well for me. Writers who state they sit down and work office hours have my admiration. This is why I appreciate Ray Bradbury’s short story “The Pedestrian.”


Set in the future a man is out walking one night, his accustomed habit, when he is pulled over by the metro police–suspicious behavior since no one walks anymore, especially at night. The pedestrian ends up being taken in for “further questioning” when he reveals he is a writer–no one reads anymore either.
Fortunately, my walking habit is not deemed odd in our own days and times. Our little town has a refreshing diversity of walking paths and I do relish my times of walking briskly, revving up the muse and muscles. The exercise unknots plot stoppage, uncramps stiff dialogue passages, and opens up new avenues of thought, like blog posts. This one, matter of fact.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Pedestrian Thoughts

  1. It’s been so long since I’ve written fiction, I’m not sure anymore what unclogs! I hope the weather is good for you 🙂

  2. Ah, Bradbury! An inspiration.

  3. @philosophize101 on said:

    Taking walks is, indeed, is the best release. I would have to note, finding somewhere to hike my knee up to place a small “jotting-pad” is the only struggle. Great post.

  4. I do believe Dickens spent the greater portion of his writing time walking the streets of London, didn’t he? You’re in good company.

    You probably wouldn’t like my solution. I have an under-the-desk bicycle. I can cycle while writing. Crazy. 😀

  5. walking is great, soaking up nature and letting the mind wander, it’s always enhanced by a pint of ale I find!

  6. I agree completely. In fact, I have a plastic shelf that attaches to my treadmill and serves as a small ‘desk’ for a laptop. I walk at a slow pace while I write. It’s better than sitting for my back and my health, and I’m convinced I’m more creative while moving as well. More blood flow to the brain. 🙂

Comments, anyone?

